Christmas Clay Snowman – Instructions

Materials

  1. Sculpey III (blue, white, gold, black, red, two types of green)
  2. Tools – pin tool, cutting tool, square cutter.

Couple of assumptions, I’m assuming you’ve looked at the other blogs and know the following:

  1. how to make backgrounds (penguin)
  2. Cupped hand technique (penguin)
  3. how to make candy canes (robin)
  4. how to add a small nose to a face (reindeer)

If not, just look at my previous blogs and you will be able to see the techniques and detailed pictures.  I tend to build on techniques that I’ve shown before.

How to make the snowman.

1.  Make a background with trees and snow.  My background is approx 1.75 inches/4.5cms.

20131210-182735.jpg

Then take a white stick of clay and cut it half, quarters, eighth’s then sixteenth’s.

2.  A quarter will be used for the bottom of the snowman.  An eighth will be used for the body of the snowman, and a sixteenth will be used for the head of the snowman.  Make balls from the three different sizes.

20131210-182744.jpg

3.  Prepare all the pieces for the snowman.  Cut the balls in half, make a candy cane in colours of your choosing, then I have a golden cone for the nose, three tiny balls for the buttons, and a black thin snack and a black oblong approx 3/4 inch long for the hat.

20131210-182753.jpg

4.  Cut a slither from a brown stick, cut the slither in two, then cut a ‘Y’ shape in both halves to create the snowman’s arms.

20131210-182801.jpg

5.  Now let’s start to assemble.  First I place the bottom, body and head of snowman at an angle on the background. Then add the black rectangle for a stovepipe hat.

20131210-182808.jpg

6.  I place the black snake around the hat to secure to the head of the snowman.  I then use a pin tool to create a hole in the head to place the nose into the face.  Finally using the pin tool I make two eyes, and I use the edge of a circular cutter to make the smile.

20131210-182815.jpg

7.  I add the buttons, one on the body and two on the bottom, and the arms either side.  You now have a basic snowman.

20131210-182835.jpg

8.  I like to add two layers of scarf using two greens.  First I add a little bit of the cane around the neck to secure the head to the body, then I add the second longer piece, around the neck and make a feature of the end with a fringe.

20131210-182842.jpg

9.  I like to add a little holly in his hat (two tiny balls of read, and a diamond shape flat green piece of clay) and add a red/white candy cane in the snowman’s hand.  This is optional.  He could hold a christmas pudding or a cracker, or something equally as Christmasy.

20131210-182849.jpg

10.  Now you have a final snowman.  Note that I usually make two snowmen at the same time.  As you create the white balls of clay any way, it saves a bit of time.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

